Go and sin no more

John 8:11 She said, “No one, Lord.” And Jesus said, “I do not condemn you, either. Go. From now on sin no more.”]

Looking in Leviticus 20 and the surrounding scriptures, I can see where the Pharisees were coming from.  I mean it is in the law, in the letter of the law.  Who is without sin, who has not violated the law in scripture.  Jesus says if you think it, you have violated it.  The weight of sin and guilt.  But we are forgiven.  What did Jesus write in the sand?  Was it her protection?  Was it ours?  Why would he protect her?  His heart of protection, of hope for her.  I think of the woman at the well, the Samaritan woman, Jesus patiently, carefully explaining to her, offering to her.  Did she get it?  Did they get it?  Can we know who will get it?  Do we have the spirits/hearts to discern?  I cannot cast the first stone, that is my truth.  I see the law as protective, but I don’t see the letter.  I much prefer Jesus and walking by the Spirit.  Do not get me wrong, I have made hard choices along the way, hard choices because I had to choose against my own wants.  The law of love was my guide.  I would say I know the Law exists and I trust it, know it, it informs my actions, thinking, life.  No not but, I was going to write but, but it is not a but.  It is an is, I much prefer the Spirit of life, although I believe it is more exacting and larger.  Now I am called to follow the heart of God, and who can know the heart of God.  So I look at Jesus, wow, figure that out.  I am that woman accused, I am that woman at the well, I am all the women and men he addressed in some profound ways, not exact ways.  Not exact laws.  When I confess now, it with a profoundly sorry heart that I cannot live up to the letter of love.  I am really sorry, forgiveness is always ready and the hope of help.  Help to come to that love, to understand and live it. I have hope of transformation and assurance of forgiveness.

1Jn 1:6 If we say that we have fellowship with Him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth; 1Jn 1:7but if we walk in the Light as He Himself is in the Light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin. 1Jn 1:8 If we say that we have no sin, we are deceiving ourselves and the truth is not in us. 1Jn 1:9 If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.